Four Midwest developments named as finalists for ULI Global Awards for Excellence

As seen RE Journals

Of the 19 developments from around the globe that have been selected as finalists for the Urban Land Institute’s (ULI) 2019 Global Awards for Excellence competition, four are located in the Midwest. Widely recognized as one of the real estate industry’s most prestigious honors, the Global Awards for Excellence recognize real estate projects that achieve the highest standard of excellence in design, construction, economics, planning and management.

The Midwest developments include 150 North Riverside in Chicago, developed by Riverside Investment and Development and designed by Goettsch Partners; The Scioto Peninsula Cultural District in Columbus, developed by The Columbus Downtown Development Corporation and Capitol South Community Urban Redevelopment Corporation and designed by MKSK, Jerome Scott Architects, Allied Works Architecture, The Olin Studio and Ralph Appelbaum Associates, Crosstown Concourse in Memphis, developed by Crosstown LLC and designed by Looney Ricks Kiss and DIALOG and finally Gathering Place in Tulsa, developed by George Kaiser Family Foundation and designed by Michael Van Valkenburgh Associates and Mack Scogin Merrill Elam Architects.

The finalists were selected by a jury made up of ULI members representing a multidisciplinary collection of real estate development expertise, including finance, land planning, development, public affairs, design and other professional services.

“What distinguished the 19 finalists is the way they have significantly improved the communities in which they are located,” said ULI member Jacinta McCann, jury chairman and design advisor to AECOM. “These projects have brought new life to these places and are creating a spillover effect in their cities. They are unlocking the public realm for use by residents and visitors in a way that hasn’t been available before. Through their long-lasting impact, they are demonstrating the best leadership globally in the responsible use of land.”

In addition to McCann, the 2019 ULI Global Awards for Excellence jury members are Stuart Ackerberg, chief executive officer, Ackerberg; Amy Coburn, university architect/director of planning design and construction, University of New Mexico; Antonio Fiol-Silva, founding principal, SITIO architecture + urbanism; Michael Grove, chair of landscape architecture, civil engineering, and ecology principal, Sasaki Associates; Blake Olafson, managing partner, Asia Capital Real Estate Pte Ltd.; Gayle Starr, managing director, Prologis and Becky Zimmerman, president, Design Workshop.

The Awards for Excellence program was established in 1979 and subsequently expanded to a global program. The program is viewed as the centerpiece of ULI’s efforts to identify and promote best practices in all types of real estate development. The winners of the competition will be recognized at the 2019 ULI Fall Meeting, to be held September 18-21 in Washington, D.C.

150 N. Riverside Plaza
Suite 1800
Chicago, IL 60606

© 2020 Riverside Investment & Development